The Wild Colonial Girl

Ann Clancy


The Wild Colonial Girl


Kate O’Mara, orphaned by the great potato famine, is driven by her fear of hunger – first to take the four-month voyage to the other side of the world, then to consider the long, dangerous journey along an unformed track to the remote north of South Australia. Brigid Mulcahey has been with her since the workhouse, and begs her not to put her life in danger, but Kate must secure a job.

Life in the Flinders Ranges is rougher and more perilous than she or Brigid could ever have imagined. Every day that she stays, the dangers loom closer. But she cannot leave. There is little work elsewhere, and the wealthy, polished pastoralist James Carmichael is an eligible man. Could fine dinners, silk gowns, and her very own share of this great golden land be within Kate’s grasp?

And what about Rory O’Connor? Charming, footloose Rory, with a twinkle in his eye and a place in his heart, offering a carefree life on the track. There could be nothing better than lying in his arms, a blanket of stars across the sky and the chorus of birds heralding the dawn, but memories of Ireland, and fears of the hunger, still haunt her.

Gold fever erupts throughout the colony, and for James, Rory, Brigid and Kate, life will never be the same again. But can Kate ever, truly, leave Ireland behind? And in whose arms will she find what she really needs?

This historical romance is perfect for readers of Judy Nunn, Diana Gabaldon and Colleen McCollough.


Available via:

Buy Direct (All devices except Kindle)

Amazon (Kindle)

Amazon UK (Kindle)

Barnes and Noble (Nook devices)

Google Play (All devices except Kindle)

iBooks Store (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac)

Kobo (All devices except Kindle)



Author Information

Ann Clancy

In a dream run, Ann Clancy’s first novel was contracted by the very first publisher she sent it to, just three weeks after she posted it off. She has now completed three epic novels, all set in the beautiful outback of South Australia. She lives in an old home set in a leafy garden in Adelaide, with her two children, a few magpies and the occasional possum. Like the heroines in her novels, Ann loves adventurous travel to exotic places …