The Maiden and the Unicorn

Isolde Martyn


The Maiden and the Unicorn


When King Edward IV offers her an irresistible challenge – to act as his secret courier to France – Margery is more than willing to risk her life for the King and escape marriage to Sir Richard Huddleston, the man who kidnapped her to further his political career.

Yet upon arriving in France, Margery is shocked to discover that Richard is the man her powerful protector, Warwick the Kingmaker, has decreed she will marry. As Warwick forms a despicable alliance with King Edward’s foes, Margery finds herself ensnared in a vicious web of political intrigue.

Torn between loyalty to Edward and a dangerous attraction to her enigmatic, traitor husband, Margery’s mission becomes a race against time to outwit her enemies and, above all, Richard.

This unforgettable tale of power, passion, and intrigue is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Diana Gabaldon and Alison Weir.

“A wonderfully interwoven tapestry of a book” – Bestselling novelist Barbara Erskine

Winner of the Romance Writers of America Rita Award for Best First Novel 2000 and the Romance Writers of Australia Romantic Book of the Year Award in 1999.


Available via:

Buy Direct (All devices except Kindle)

Amazon (Kindle)

Amazon UK (Kindle)

Barnes and Noble (Nook devices)

Google Play (All devices except Kindle)

iBooks Store (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac)

Kobo (All devices except Kindle)



Author Information

Isolde Martyn

Maybe it was a visit to the Tower of London as a child but by the time she was a teenager, Isolde wanted to write historicals. That meant a history honours degree and a specialisation in the Wars of the Roses, her favourite era. Having enjoyed a career in academia and book editing, she is now the author of seven published novels, mostly about real historical figures. Her first novel won the Rita Award for ‘Best First Novel’ in the ‚Ķ